Mint on the M7

I swim at a local public pool in the evenings.  The parks department organizes adult-only lap swim hours in the mornings and evening during the outdoor swimming season.  I’m not naming the pool I swim at because we get very few swimmers compared to the other pools and I want to keep it that way.  I will say, however, that my garden is on my way home from the pool.  I stopped by last night to pick the tomatoes I knew would be ready and to get some herbs for a salad I planned for dinner. 

I swim a mile each night.  When I’m done, extreme laziness sets in.  Rather than walk the 10 blocks home I jumped on the bus.  I didn’t realize how potent the mint was until I overheard a woman in the back of the bus say “I smell mint.”  She repeated it, looking around trying to figure out where it was coming from.  I pulled the small bunch out of my swim bag.  We talked about herbs and uses for mint.  The scent took over the entire bus, which I have to say is a huge improvement on how NYC buses usually smell.  I wish I had some extra to share, but I only picked enough for my salad. Still, it was nice to meet someone new.

The salad?  Here’s the recipe.  I don’t really measure things, so this is all approximate.

  • the kernels from one ear of corn
  • sliced zucchini – about a handful
  • diced red onion – about a handful
  • 1 small tomato diced, seeds removed because I think the seeds are nasty
  • handful of chopped fresh herbs – I used mint and purple basil
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

I briefly sautéed the corn and zucchini in a little bit of the oil – just until the corn turned a brighter yellow.  (At this point I realized that bacon would have been a good idea.  cook some bacon, use the bacon fat to cook the corn and zucchini and then crumble the bacon on top.  But I didn’t have any.  Boo.) I diced the tomato and the onion, chopped up the herbs and tossed them in a bowl.  When the corn and zucchini were done, I combined it with the other stuff, sprinkled on some salt and pepper and red pepper flakes, and drizzled some olive oil. Mixed it up, put it on a plate and ate it.  I didn’t think to take a picture until after I ate it all.  Yes, I ate it all.  It was amazing.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Mint on the M7

  1. Tammy says:

    Sounds like a perfect post-swim salad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

